CTL TA Awards Season

While others are hanging stockings, trimming trees, decking halls, and buying extravagant gifts for the ones they love, the folks over at the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) at Georgia Tech have visions of a different kind of celebration. The Center is excited to celebrate the contributions to teaching excellence at Georgia Tech made by our graduate and undergraduate teaching assistants. The 2018 award process will officially open January 1, 2018.

How to Apply

CTL asks that all schools/departments conduct an internal competition to produce one person in each of the following categories, where applicable: (1) Graduate Student Instructor (GSI) of the Year; (2) Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) of the Year; and (3) Undergraduate Teaching Assistant (UTA) of the Year. Eligible candidates will have taught between Spring 2017 and Spring 2018.

The names of department winners are submitted to CTL, and each will be invited to submit an application to participate in the campus-wide competition, which is overseen by the Center. All recipients of school/department awards will be honored and the campus-wide winners announced at the Spring 2018 TA and Future Faculty Awards Day ceremony. Each campus-wide winner also receives a monetary prize of $500.

Important Dates to Remember

  • January 1 – February 23: Schools submit names of school/department TA award winners to CTL
  • February 2 – March 9: School-level winners who wish to compete for the campus-wide award submit application packets to CTL
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018: TA and Future Faculty Awards Day Ceremony

2017 Winners

For the 2017 TA Awards, 31 department winners participated in the campus-wide competition – 8 GSIs, 16 GTAs, and 7 UTAs. All six colleges and 16 schools were represented in the pool of applicants. A panel of judges selected the three campus-wide winners, who were honored at the TA and Future Faculty Awards ceremony. The winners were Emily Alicea-Muñoz (GSI of the Year, Physics), Haley Steele (GTA of the Year, Biological Sciences), and Jared Kleinwaechter (UTA of the Year, Mathematics). Each received a certificate and a check for $500.

All inquiries about the CTL TA Awards should be sent to Dr. Tammy M. McCoy at tammy.mccoy@gatech.edu.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

You may also like...