Spotlighting The Best At Georgia Tech: The 2020 TA Awards

Each year the Center for Teaching and Learning has the proud honor of selecting from among the best and the brightest Teaching Assistants (TAs) at Georgia Tech to grant the titles of Graduate Student Instructor of the Year, Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year, and Undergraduate Teaching Assistant of the Year. The 2019-2020 academic year brought us 45 Outstanding Teaching Assistant nominations, representing all six colleges and 23 schools. From a pool of 37 candidates, nine winners were selected by a panel of reviewers to win one of the $500 campus prizes.

When asked what it means to be named one of the Undergraduate Teaching Assistants of the Year, Caroline Kish, one of the standout undergraduate teaching assistants from the School of Computer Science, stated, “Being an undergraduate TA was one of the experiences that made my time at Georgia Tech so fulfilling. It has meant so much to me the past three-and-a-half years and receiving this award further affirms that becoming a TA is one of the best decisions I ever made.”

The full list of award winners is posted below. Please take the time to thank and congratulate this fine community of graduate and undergraduate TAs; their hard work alongside our faculty and staff genuinely helps shape the teaching and learning environment at Georgia Tech.

Congratulations, TAs!

Outstanding Graduate Student Instructors
Aditya Anupam Literature, Media, and Communication
Camila Apablaza Public Policy
Mario Bianchini History and Sociology
Yoan Delchev Mathematics
Peter Griffiths Mechanical Engineering
Anthony Harding Economics
Kate Kidwell Psychology
James Park Architecture
Peter Simasek Business Administration
Timur Tankayev Industrial and Systems Engineering
Umesh Unnikrishnan Aerospace Engineering
Ningquan Wang Electrical and Computer Engineering
Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistants
Abigail Advincula Materials Science and Engineering
Shelby Ellis Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Karim Farhat Public Policy
Gabriel Gusmão Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Seyma Guven Kocak Industrial and Systems Engineering
Cvetelina Hill Mathematics
John Johnson Biological Sciences
Anna Kiningham Architecture
Zoe Klesmith Mechanical Engineering
Bon Woo Koo City & Regional Planning
Ming Liu Civil and Environmental Engineering
Cooper Lyu Biological Sciences
Alicia Martinez International Affairs
Sara Miller Aerospace Engineering
Shauna Morrisey Music
Lacey Perdue Biomedical Engineering
Elaine Rhoades Physics
Justin Sabree Psychology
Kartik Sastry Electrical and Computer Engineering
Yushuo Yang Economics
Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistants
Jacob Allen Division of Computing Instruction
Madeline Bruning Public Policy
Zuyu Chen Music
Tristan Gaskins Mechanical Engineering
Brandon Kang Industrial and Systems Engineering
Nisha Kashyap Biological Sciences
Caroline Kish Computer Science
Lenno Liu Materials Science and Engineering
Connor McMahon Electrical and Computer Engineering
Max Poff Mathematics
Monica Rizk Architecture
Caterina Rossie Biological Sciences
Sara Tonks Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

You may also like...